Being a Boy Mom

IMG_4335

When we first found out we were going to have a child, four years ago, Jamy and I were both hoping for a little boy. There seemed to be something special about the notion of our other children having a protective older brother to lead the way. We also somehow got it in our head that a boy might be easier to handle and thus a great transition into parenthood.

So far we haven’t been too far off base with our assumptions. While, Holland, is only a year old, I swear I can already see a major difference in her personality. She has very distinct attributes that scream girl. Some of which are sweet and some of which are a little more difficult. In general.. there is just a lot more sass.

My favorite part of having a little boy, though, is not necessarily the ease of his personality, but his interests. Growing up with an older brother, myself, I think I was always envious of the sports, action figures and overall “tough” persona that comes with boyhood. And now that I have a son, I think that little girl in me gets to vicariously live through Hudson. Is that weird? Probably. Either way, I’m really enjoying our day to day life being filled with trucks and transformers.

20160404-12100936902016040440858501920160404-1808833325201604041087608202016040491516215120160404-1076945652

And in honor of his truck obsession we took Hudson to see Monster Jam this weekend. And weirdly, Jamy and I were probably more into it than he was. But, it was nice to have some alone time with our little man and just bask in all of his boyness as his sister spent time with her aunt and grand mama.

Leave a Reply

