1 Month Update

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Holland is now 5 weeks old and although she definitely gets a little fussy at times, It seems that she isn’t going to be a colicky baby. And that is a great relief after struggling so much through Hudson’s first few months. Her laid back attitude and the little experience I have under my belt from Hudson has made this second child thing so much easier than I was expecting.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The only difficulty we have experienced with her so far are skin sensitivities. Have any of you had to deal with ultra sensitive baby skin? She got the worst diaper rash I have ever seen around 3 weeks old. With open wounds and everything. Treating that was a pain in the butt (pardon the pun). Diaper changes took forever because the doctor recommended we thoroughly rinse her down with Domeboro at each change and apply antibiotic ointment and pounds of butt paste. PLUS have her soak in a Domeboro drenched pad for 20 minutes, four times a day. Since the wounds have finally healed, I’ve had to switch her to sensitive diapers and I can’t use baby wipes on her. Even the sensitive wipes seem to bother her skin. So I’ve had to resort to making my own. All in all, it’s not the worst thing in the world but it has definitely been annoying and I am hoping it’s something she will grow out of.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset
Hudson still has no desire to hold her. He would rather play with his monster trucks. Although, to be fair, that’s really the only thing he ever wants to do. He will occasionally check in on her and ask her how she is doing. And today when I pulled her bassinet closer to me in order to rock it, he pulled it back and said “No.. MY baby Holland.” So, I’m taking that as a good sign and running with it,

Leave a Reply

