From Farm to Table

Image

I know that shopping at a Farmer’s Market has become a little trite in the past couple of years. It is obviously the hip thing to do. Shop Local. Buy organic. All of that. Personally, I could never find the motivation to wake up early to go grocery shopping. Until I had a kid. And sleeping until 8 became a luxury.

So this morning, after realizing I had put off my grocery shopping a few days too many I convinced Jamy to come with me to our local Farmer’s Market. And I have to say it wasn’t nearly as cliche as I thought it would be. The crowd that I was expecting to be young professionals that are a million times cooler than me turned out to be a crowd of sweet elderly people and young families just like us. And the trend of buying local actually had a face on it when we stopped to talk to each of the vendor’s. There was one man in particular who really touched me with his incessant gratitude for our supporting his business. Sure, it may have been a clever sales pitch. But it worked. His stand quickly became my favorite.

Jamy and I had a great time getting out as a family and seeing people. Hudson LOVED the jazz band playing on the side of the street. And I came home with a bag full of groceries and was able to put a delicious breakfast/brunch on the table in just 15 minutes.

Image

Image

So this is what I made; Baked Eggs with Spinach and Swiss Chard. Yum!
In actuality I made a few substitutions. My husband is not a fan of cheese and I love to add a little spice to everything I eat. So we added 3/4 cup of diced bell pepper’s in the skillet with the spinach and chard. And left out the Parmesan. Guys, it was delicious!
And for dessert we had some white chocolate covered pecans from my favorite sweet old man.

Leave a Reply

