Valentine’s Crafting With a Toddler

Image

Hudson and I decided to get creative yesterday in the name of St. Valentine. And when I say “Hudson and I” decided, I obviously mean I forced him to do this. But he still enjoyed it, I promise.

I decided to make some heart shaped Salt Dough ornaments, because they were free and easy. They’re also good for making keepsake imprints of little baby hands and feet!

Image

I can not take credit for this recipe, because I believe it’s been around forever. And you can find a million variations by Googling salt dough. But we used:

1 Cup Salt
1 Cup Flour
1/2 Cup Water

Mix all the ingredients.
Roll out onto wax paper and cut out whatever shapes you would like.
We made a lot of little hearts and used a chop stick to make wholes in them for hanging.

Then Bake at 300 Degrees F for about 30 minutes.
(This recipe is not fool proof, as I found out. A few of them may bubble depending on thickness. The thinner the better. But, either way i suggest making multiple hearts in case there are a few messed up ones.)

Image

When they came out of the oven, we let them cool.
Then I painted them white and let them dry so Hudson would have a prettier base to work on.

Image

Image

Image

We chose to make edible paints again, because everything still finds a way into his mouth. If you have an older child and would like a more polished final product, I would go with regular store bought paint.

Image

Image

Voila! We are going to tie these to treat bags for friends and family. But you could make them into necklaces, glue them on valentine’s cards, hang them on your wall. Whatever your little heart desires.

Leave a Reply

