Four Month Update and Some Words on Colic

Image

Well, we’ve officially been at it for Four whole months.
And it honestly feels like an eternity. I don’t remember what life was like before this little kid showed up. (I seem to have a distant memory of something called “sleep”?) And yet he still seems to be growing so fast.
With each week we’re developing a new skill and hitting a milestone.

If you keep up with us enough to notice that it’s been a while since I’ve posted, it’s been a rough few weeks with illnesses and just an overall feeling of exhaustion. The past couple of weeks, however, have been a major turning point for us as a family. As Hudson becomes more social and aware of the world surrounding him, his fussiness and colic seem to be gradually slipping away.

Something, I want to talk about real quick is the difficulty of parenting. I know that everyone is aware that being a mom (or dad) is hard. But, I really feel like we either got a tough baby or everyone around me is just not being completely honest with how hard it is. Or maybe I’m just a wimp?? Who knows.
Anyhow, when I see these women on Facebook talking about how little Susie is sleeping through the night or what a pleasure every second is with little johnny it truly frustrates me.
(Hint: If your kid sleeps 12 hours at night, I don’t want to hear about it.)

The first three months with Hudson were probably the happiest and hardest 90 days of my life. I can’t remember the last time I slept for more than three consecutive hours. And until this month I couldn’t tell you the last day I went without hours and hours of a crying baby every evening. If your life is colic free than you are blessed!

I remember when Hudson was first born his doctor informed us that babies with colic will come out from it around three months. And when the three month mark came and went for us I had just thrown in the towel on being one of those happy all the time, rested mothers on Facebook. (Stupid Facebook.)

But, alas, it does get better! I swear as soon as he turned four months it was like I woke up with a new kid. (Don’t get me wrong.. he still cries. And there are days when I want to lock myself in the bathroom.) But it is so much better. The smiles outnumber the tantrums, by far. And there is so much more calm and peace in our house.

If you’re wondering why I’m going on this rant and airing out all of our dirty laundry  its because I just thought I should share… In case there is anyone out there in the blogosphere reading this, who is going through the same thing as us. Because I know it can feel like you’re all alone  when you talk to your parent friends and they seem to be having such an easy go of it. And no one’s advice really works… It does get better. And you are not alone!
I’m just personally grateful that I’m blessed enough to have a mother down the street, helpful friends, a loving husband and a mother in law who I know would drive in town at a moments notice if we ever needed it.

Image

Now on to the fun stuff. The Stats!
Hudson is currently at 16 pounds, 25 inches tall and has a head circumference in the 95th percentile. That’s right. I said 95th.

He is using his hands so much now, which really happened overnight. Just last week at his checkup I was complaining to the doctor that I thought his motor skills were developing slowly. Hud must have heard me complaining because the second we got home from the doctor he started grabbing for toys and reaching out to touch mommy and daddy’s face. There’s seriously nothing sweeter than the feel of those little chunky hands grabbing my cheek.

We’re getting so close to sitting up unsupported. There are moments when he can balance all on his own, but we’re not 100% there yet. Tummy time is so much better now that he can lift his head up 90 degrees. A lot less fussing. And we’re still working on trying to roll over.

The two biggest things we’re dealing with now are sleeping and beginning solids.

Hudson has never been a good sleeper. We did have a couple of good weeks in his second month but recently he wouldn’t go more than two/three hours without waking up crying for food or cuddles. We’re currently working on his bedtime routine and creating sleep cues for him. Maybe I’m just an idiot, but all of this time hearing how important routine is for babies I assumed it was only to boost their sense of stability and confidence. It never occurred to me that it is also a sleep training method. How did I not get that? Stupid.

Anyway, we are currently working on a night time schedule that goes like this. Bath at 7:30/8 followed by a warm bottle with the lights dimmed and white noise in the background. ( I do a bottle instead of nursing to make sure he is really getting a full tummy before he passes out). Then a  quick little massage with lavender lotion before putting him in a swaddle and rocking him until he is on the verge of passing out and can be put down in crib. (Another thing I never understood the importance of, is putting them down when they’re still awake. So they can practice falling asleep on their own and won’t be shocked when they wake up and are no longer in mommy’s arms.) After a few days of the same thing… the swaddle and white noise have become definite cues that it’s time for bed. A couple of nights ago he slept for eight hours. Since then it has been a lot of four hour stretches, which is actually not that bad for him. And as for the timing, I have the hardest go of it trying to get him to sleep before 11. That has always been his natural bed time I guess. But, once we get this routine down and memorized I’ll start trying to move it up in 15 minute intervals. And will hopefully, eventually have a baby in bed by 8:00 that knows how to sleep. (Fingers Crossed!!) And I won’t be enraged every time I hear someone talk about how awesome it is that their child sleeps like a log all night.

As for solids; we tried rice cereal for the first time the other day. He kept trying to push the spoon out of his mouth with his tongue when it touched his lips. And according to my books that’s a reflex that shows he probably just isn’t quite ready yet. But we will be trying again very soon. He absolutely, loved the taste of it. Couldn’t get enough, really, which you’ll see in the video below. He got so upset every time I took the spoon away to refill it. By the end of the process we were having a total melt down and he was grabbing the spoon from me and practically shoving it down his throat.
How’s that for motor skills?!

So, with all of that said, the 4th month is the best so far! And I’m sure it will only get better from here. We are so in love with our little fussbudget and we really appreciate you guys keeping up with us!

2 thoughts on “Four Month Update and Some Words on Colic

  1. So I also have a 4 month old and she most definitely does not sleep through the night! She may go 4 hours at night and she too, had some 8 hours nights when she was 2 months. I think you’re bed time routine sounds good. I keep trying a bottle, but mine won’t take one. She does throw fits when I know she has enough but she just wants to nurse to sleep, which I’m trying not to do. My son pretty much followed this pattern and was sleeping 12 hour nights close to 7 or 8 months. This was when I switched him to formula and also when he was eating more solids…

    I’m sorry you have a colicky baby…I cannot even imagine how hard that is.

    I am waiting as long as possible to try solids because I’ve read all they need is breast milk for a long while. We’ll see how long I can actually wait! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

