Week 24

(20 weeks)

Last month we went in for Baby’s 20 week Ultrasound.

It was one of the best experiences of my life, to see the little guy dancing around and to watch the excitement on Jamy’s face as he got to see his little boy for the first time.

We were very grateful to see that everything was developing on schedule… 10 fingers and 10 toes, a beating heart and some rambunctious kicking.

There was a slight case of renal pelvic dilation in one of his kidneys. However, we were told that it is extremely common in babies (Especially little boys) and usually clears up on its own by delivery.

Just to be safe we went back in yesterday to look in on it. Now he is experiencing some dilation on both sides, but, there is a range of dilation that is considered normal and his was well within that range. So, thankfully, we were sent out with a bill of clean health!

We tried to get a few pictures yesterday, but he was being very uncooperative. We came away with one very grainy picture of the little guy. He’s facing the ‘camera’ (on the right side of the picture) and it looks a little like he’s waving (in the top part).

All-in-all it was a great day for our little family. I’m feeling very blessed this weekend.

(A feeling I’m sure I will not have, when I go back, in two weeks for my Gestational Diabetes test.)

4 thoughts on “Week 24

  1. It’s almost kind of surreal to believe that this tiny display of electromagnetic radiation will be an adult one day. Your child, someone’s best friend, someone’s father, brother?, uncle, boss, co-worker, lover, enemy, mentor.

    It seems like a long wait now, but it’s all just a blink really.

  2. We’re really close in our pregnancies – it’s so exciting, isn’t it? I want to hear about how your glucose test went…I have to do mine October 8th, and am not at all excited about giving my tiny baby all that sugar!

    • It actually wasn’t as bad as I was anticipating! Luckily, I passed the one hour test so I didn’t have to do the big three hour bit. I’m not too sure how much sugar was in the drink but it was a very small portion. Probably, only a couple ounces.

      Good luck with yours, though!! If anything, you might get some fun kicks after ingesting all that sugar! My little guy, was dancing up a storm for the next couple of hours!

      • My doc let me know that the one I would be drinking had 50 grams of sugar…but the doctor down the hall made her patients drink one with 100!! Glad it wasn’t as bad as I keep thinking it will be – that’s encouraging!

Leave a Reply

